Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
black midi
Rough Trade
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 15, 2022

black midi’s new album Hellfire is an absolute bundle of agitated and twisted songs. Hellfire builds on the melodic and harmonic elements of Cavalcade, while expanding the brutality and intensity of their debut, Schlagenheim. It is their most thematically cohesive and intentional album yet. It is instantly black midi but adds more elements of Zappa and showtunes.

Whereas the stories of Cavalcade were told in third person, Hellfire is presented in first-person and tells the tales of morally suspect characters. There are direct dramatic monologues, flamboyantly appealing to our degraded sense of right and wrong. You’re never quite sure whether to laugh at or be horrified.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Hellfire 1:24 Buy


  2. 2 Sugar/Tzu 3:50 Buy


  3. 3 Eat Men Eat 3:08 Buy

    Eat Men Eat

  4. 4 Welcome to Hell 4:09 Buy

    Welcome to Hell

  5. 5 Still 5:46 Buy


  6. 6 Half Time 0:26 Buy

    Half Time

  7. 7 The Race Is About To Begin 7:15 Buy

    The Race Is About To Begin

  8. 8 Dangerous Liaisons 4:14 Buy

    Dangerous Liaisons

  9. 9 The Defence 2:59 Buy

    The Defence

  10. 10 27 Questions 5:43 Buy

    27 Questions

black midi

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences